top of page
  • Writer's pictureFARE TAG CWFA Cooks Team

Multi-purpose Gluten-Free "Breading Crust" Mix

Updated: Jul 7, 2021

This recipe was given by Jacqueline S!


Free of the top 9 allergens (and more!): Eggs, fish, wheat, soy, shellfish, dairy, tree nuts, sesame, and peanuts. CONTAINS CORN


This is one of my dad’s creations. He experimented with finding the best and most delicious allergy-friendly “bread crumbs”. All of these ingredients are easy to find and this mix can last a long time if stored properly.




Tools:

  • Food processor or rolling pin/large object

  • Resealable Plastic Bag



Ingredients

  • 6 cups of Rice Krispy Cereal

  • 6 cups of Cornflakes

  • 3 teaspoons of Paprika

  • 2 tablespoons of Salt

  • 1 teaspoon of pepper

  • ¼ teaspoon of cayenne pepper (If you don’t want any heat/spice, use less or omit the ingredient.)

  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder

  • Any other spices/seasonings of your choice



Directions/Steps

  1. Place all the cereal in a food processor and grind it until it is a fine powder. (Be cautious when using a food processor!) If you don’t have a food processor, place the cereal in a plastic bag and you can use a rolling pin or large object to pound and crush the cereal to bits.

  2. Move the mix into a plastic bag and add your spices and seasonings. Seal the bag and toss it around to mix well. Make sure all of the spices are evenly incorporated.

  3. Seal the bag entirely, making sure there is no air. It can last up to 3 months.


When using the mix…(Example images are using cut and dried pieces of cod)

1. Pour out only the amount of it that you need into a separate dish so that you can save the rest for other meals.


2. Coat a food of your choice with the mixture. (I’ve used pork, fish, and chicken in the past). Press firmly to make sure the mixture adheres and covers areas all around the food.


3. Cook your food as desired and serve! (You can fry or bake it!)



(Fish sticks with french fries and Brussels sprouts)


(Pork Schnitzel)



Jacqueline's Bio:

Hi, my name is Jacqueline See-Tho. I am 15 years old and a sophomore in high school from California. I have lived with food allergies to eggs, milk, tree nuts, and peanuts my entire life. I love to cook, bake, and test new recipes. Some of my other passions include traveling, dance, singing, and theatre. In my free time, I like to listen to music, play with my dog, read, and write. This is my second year being on FARE’s Teen Advisory Group, and I’m really excited to be the leader of the Chef Committee for the Cooking with Food Allergies project this year. I’m looking forward to being a part of this special community and sharing some great recipes!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page