top of page
  • Writer's pictureFARE Tag Team

Dairy-Free Yogurt Parfait

This recipe was given by Jacqueline!

Free of the top 8 allergens (and more!): eggs, dairy, soy, wheat, tree nuts (with the exception of coconut), peanuts, fish, and shellfish depending on the yogurt and type of toppings that you include.

Note from Jacqueline: I recently created this recipe for the first time. I had never had dairy-free yogurt before and was pleasantly surprised. My non-allergic family members made parfaits from time to time and I always watched with jealousy. However, I finally got a chance to give it an allergy-friendly twist. I used mainly random ingredients in my pantry and refrigerator that I thought would work well, so feel free to use whatever you want. Although it didn’t have defined layers like I wanted it to, it was still delectable! I like to eat it as a snack or a nice breakfast or brunch. It is super quick and super easy!


Tools:

-Spoon

-A good, clean, and clear glass


Ingredients:

-Honey or your favorite form of a sweetener

-Dairy-free yogurt of choice (I used So Delicious’s Plain Coconut Yogurt.)

Various mix-ins like fruits (berries), chocolate, granola, cereal, dried fruit (craisins, raisins, etc.), jam, candy, etc. (I used blueberries and top-8-free granola from Red Plate Foods because that is what I had on hand.)


Directions:

1- If desired, sweeten your yogurt by mixing it well with honey or another sweetener. I personally used about 1-2 tablespoons because I like mine pretty sweet.

2- Then begin layering your ingredients. I started with a dry layer of granola and then added yogurt, on top of that was blueberries, some dollops of yogurt again, and then kept going using granola (starting the cycle again). The amount of each ingredient you use is completely customizable and flexible to your preferences.

3- Keep going until you finish it up with whatever ingredients you would like on the top layer. I used blueberries and granola on the top layer with some more drizzled honey. Don’t make it too full or you may have a hard time digging in and eating it!

4- That’s it! Super simple! Enjoy this pretty treat!




Jacqueline's Bio:

Hi, my name is Jacqueline See-Tho. I am 14 years old and a rising sophomore in Palo Alto, California. I am Filipino, Malaysian-Chinese, and German. I have lived with food allergies to eggs, milk, and all nuts my entire life. Growing up in an area that is booming with research regarding allergies has made me very lucky. About three years ago, I was fortunate enough to become part of a clinical trial, a multi-food OIT program that used Xolair. I did this with my older brother who also has severe food allergies. As I continue to undergo treatment, my food world has opened up and I now feel more comfortable with the food that I encounter. I love to cook, bake, and test new recipes. Learning how to make good food with allergies is essential, and I know some tips and tricks that I’m excited to share with everyone. Some of my other passions include traveling, dance (I do ballet and contemporary), singing (I’m in my school choir), and acting. In my free time, I like to listen to music, play with my dog (he’s a Goldendoodle), read, and write. This is my first year being on FARE’s Teen Advisory Group, and I’m really excited to be working alongside so many supportive, dedicated, and hardworking individuals. I hope to provide some helpful resources as you experience life with allergies! I’m looking forward to being a part of this special community!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page