top of page
  • Writer's pictureFARE Tag Team

Corn Puppies (Mini, Allergy-Friendly Corn Dogs)

This recipe was given by Jacqueline!

Free of the top 8 allergens: eggs, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, fish, soy, and wheat. CONTAINS CORN.

Note from Jacqueline: This recipe required a lot of experimenting, but we finally got a great recipe! The batter is flavorful, fluffy, and crispy, and paired with the classic hotdog, you will love it! Enjoy!


Tools:

- Bowl

- Whisk

- Knife

- Cutting board

- Fryer or pot for frying

- Metal kebab or barbecue skewers-DON’T USE WOOD (See in later steps how you can do this without skewers.)


Ingredients:

Batter

- 1 cup of yellow cornmeal

- ½ cup of a GF Pancake Mix (I like to use Cherrybrook Kitchen’s mix or King Arthur Flour’s mix.)

- ½ cup of tapioca flour (Bob’s Red Mill)

- ½ teaspoon of salt

- 1 teaspoon of sugar

- ½ teaspoon of baking soda

- 1 teaspoon of baking powder

- 1 cup of dairy-free milk (Rice, coconut, oat, etc. I like to use So Delicious’s Coconut Milk).

- 3 teaspoons of Ener-G egg replacer powder

Other

- 8 (or more!) hot dogs cut in half (You can try turkey dogs or non-beef dogs, but it may not taste as good.)

- Oil for frying

Directions:

1.) Make the batter by mixing all of the batter ingredients together well.












2.) Place the halved hot dogs on metal skewers. (If you don’t have skewers, you can try it without them. More on that in later steps.)











3.) Heat your oil to 375℉ (You can use a fryer or thermometer and a big pot of oil.)

4.) Dip the hot dogs in the batter and rotate until covered. (If you don’t have skewers, then dunk the hot dogs in the batter and move them around using forks until they are coated.)












5.) Gently place our hot dogs in the oil using the skewer. Enter from the tip of the skewer, so that it does not puff/expand and fall off. (You can do this without skewers, but you may not get an even and crispy layer of batter.)









6.) Slowly rotate for 2-3 minutes until golden brown and completely cooked through. (Flip if you aren’t using skewers.)













7.) Push off the skewer using tongs and dry. Let the oil drip on a metal rack or paper towel-lined baking pan/sheet. (If you aren’t using skewers, fish out using a spider strainer or forks or tongs.)










8.) Repeat steps 2-7 until you are out of hot dogs or batter.

9.) If you have extra batter, you can add sugar (until desired taste-do test batches) and fry it up into pieces or a funnel cake. (Try putting it in a squeeze bottle!) This can be the chef’s treat or dessert.











10.) Enjoy! I served mine with sweet potato fries and pan-fried Brussel sprouts with bacon.





































Jacqueline's Bio:

Hi, my name is Jacqueline See-Tho. I am 14 years old and a rising sophomore in Palo Alto, California. I am Filipino, Malaysian-Chinese, and German. I have lived with food allergies to eggs, milk, and all nuts my entire life. Growing up in an area that is booming with research regarding allergies has made me very lucky. About three years ago, I was fortunate enough to become part of a clinical trial, a multi-food OIT program that used Xolair. I did this with my older brother who also has severe food allergies. As I continue to undergo treatment, my food world has opened up and I now feel more comfortable with the food that I encounter. I love to cook, bake, and test new recipes. Learning how to make good food with allergies is essential, and I know some tips and tricks that I’m excited to share with everyone. Some of my other passions include traveling, dance (I do ballet and contemporary), singing (I’m in my school choir), and acting. In my free time, I like to listen to music, play with my dog (he’s a Goldendoodle), read, and write. This is my first year being on FARE’s Teen Advisory Group, and I’m really excited to be working alongside so many supportive, dedicated, and hardworking individuals. I hope to provide some helpful resources as you experience life with allergies! I’m looking forward to being a part of this special community!


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page